Notifications
Clear all

Re: couple of questions

3 Posts
3 Users
0 Likes
(@Anonymous)
New Member Guest

I'm a freshman at a CC right now and after I get my associates in arts or science I'm transfering to a liberal arts university.. is a liberal arts university a bad idea when you are thinking about goin to med school? I want to go to this university because I know it has a great psych program, but if its a bad idea I need to start lookin around some more.
Also, my whole freshman year my classes have been only psych, humanities, and english classes.. I took one math class, College Algebra, so far.. I'm not the greatest in Maths but I got an A in that.. my question is what kinds of maths will I need for the MCATs and for Med Schools? Next year I'm really gona need to work on maths and sciences, so I need to be aware of what to sign up for.
For the Science part, we have an excellent Anatomy and Physiology class here at the CC.. I never hear anyone mention that kind of class when they talk about med school.. is it a class I should take or is it useless? should i just focus on biology and chem? and should I even take those here or wait till later?
thanks you guys! 😀

ReplyQuote
(@drdave)
Admin Admin

A liberal arts college is not a bad idea at all. I graduated from a liberal arts college, as do most people. If you want to study psychology as an undergrad, than you should definitely pick a school with a strong psychology department.

As for the math requirements, most medical schools don't have an explicit requirement. I'd say many pre-med students have taken math through calculus, but it is not required by most medical schools. You really don't need to know calculus either for the MCAT or for medical school. When you take physics, you'll need to have some basic understanding of some of the principles of calculus, but you don't really need to know it. If you struggle in math, than parts of physics will likely be tough as well - so be prepared for that.