Notifications
Clear all

College psychology classes and future psychiatry career

2 Posts
2 Users
0 Likes
(@Anonymous)
New Member Guest

hi im currently a sophomore in colege I had been thinking about majoring in psychology but now ive been thinking about psychiatry I took gen psych and am taking social psch this semester are those good courses to take to expand my knowledge on psychiatryor in giving me a glimpse of wat psychiatry is really like.

[ Edited by Admin on 2004/9/11 18:50 ]

ReplyQuote
(@drdave)
Admin Admin

First, in order to pursue psychiatry, you'll need to make sure you take all your pre-med courses and meet all of the requirements for medical school. That is not true if you are pursuing a career as a clinical psychologist, in which case you'd have to make sure you take all the necessary classes to get into graduate school in clinical psychology (and I'm not sure what those requirements are)

As to your questions regarding psychology courses as an undergrad - I'd say that any psychology courses you take are worthwhile if you are interested in becoming a psychiatrist. I really only took a few psychology classes becaues at the time, those were the only courses that seemed interesting to me.

Generaly psychology will definitely give you a good basic perspective of the field of psychology; however, it doesn't necessarily relate much to the general practice of psychology / psychiatry or give much insight into how someone uses the knowledge in the clinical realm (at least that's what I remember from my pscyhology class in college).

As for social psychology, I'm not really sure how relevant that will be, as I never took a social psychology course. I would imagine that there would be some aspects of that course which would deal with interpersonal relationships and personality related to that - which would probably give you some additional perspective on psychopathology.