Notifications
Clear all

natural apptitude for science?

3 Posts
2 Users
0 Reactions
(@Anonymous)
New Member Guest

First of all, I apologize for the length of this post. This is probably a stupid question, but I was wondering, does one need to have a natural aptitude for science in order to be successful as a physician?

I am a freshman in college and currently taking general biology and general chemistry courses; I am enamored with both these courses and have, at times, been suffused with my love of them as I walked down the hallway to my bio or chem lab. In the beginning of the semester, I even considering being a chemistry major. Still, both of these courses are proving to be hard for me. I did not make a good grade on my first chemistry exam (I fell below the class mean) and am still awaiting the results on my first bio exam. My very supportive chemistry professor has told my that I can still recover my GPA, but I am now wondering: am I making the wrong decision by going into medical school if freshman science courses are proving so challenging for me? I am pleased if I can just keep up with the material in lectures and, somehow, that doesn't seem right.

In my psychology class, by contrast, I am always able to ask engaging questions and more than keep up with the material; in fact, I seem to remember everything I read with little to no effort. My psychology professor has unlimited faith in my abilities as a student . . . and has actually consistently remembered who I am even though he is teaching an introductory course of 200+ students . . .

Some friends have suggested that since psychology seems to come easier to me, I might want to be a psychologist rather than a psychiatrist. But, I have always wanted to be a psychiatrist and love all aspects of the profession- including the science. Somehow, becoming a psychologist instead would just not feel right . . .