Notifications
Clear all

Child Psychiatrist Hopefull

5 Posts
3 Users
0 Likes
(@Anonymous)
New Member Guest

I'm currently in the process of interviewing for medical schools and the posts have been extremely helpful! I have a lot of experience working with children and am interested in possibly becoming a child psychiatrist. I know that child and adolescent psychiatry requires an additional board certification (i think) and was wondering if someone could fill me in on the additional training to become a child psychiatrist.

Also, for the residents and doctors, how much of your time do you have directly interacting with the patients. I have read numerous articles about psychiatrists mostly being called on to run around and proscribe medicine in 5 minutes or less (exaggeration) so I'm concerned about the amount of interaction I'll be able to have as a physician.

Finally, does anyone have an opinion on the current state of psychiatry? I know that the profession is still pushing to validate its credibility but is the field moving and expanding as quickly as it seems to be?

I would appreciate any feedback. Thank you!

ReplyQuote
(@Anonymous)
New Member Guest

I work as a professional in the Mental Health field and I can tell you that upstate NY is in need of child psychiatry. We have wonderful programs for child with mental healh needs but not enough child psychiatrists. Its a huge need so I would tell you to go for the child psychiatrist position, you won't ever lack a job. Also, I do believe that if you prefer to take time with your patients than that is how you can operate. Some other psychiatrists that have since retired have had such good relations with their patients on taking the time to explain medications and to know them. Person-centered treatment is here and will force more interactions and focus on the strengths of the client. Good Luck!

ReplyQuote
(@Anonymous)
New Member Guest