Notifications
Clear all

Med School Req's

5 Posts
3 Users
0 Reactions
(@Anonymous)
New Member Guest

I graduated with a degree in Anthropolgy, I took a year off then decided that I wanted to pursue becoming a physician. Should i pursue a masters degree in Biology to have a better foundation in the sciences? or can I just take my pre-req's at any college then apply to med school? Please help!! Thanks 😕

ReplyQuote
(@drdave)
Admin Admin

You don't need the masters in biology in order to get accepted to medical school. It might make you stand out a little compared to others, having a masters degree, but I doubt it would be the difference between being accepted or rejected at a med school. I would take the pre-req's at a decent 4 year college and apply to med school once you've finished them and taken your MCATs.

ReplyQuote
(@Anonymous)
New Member Guest

Thanks for your help! I have another question if you dont mind...
Can i take undergraduate classes at another school even though i have my bachelors? Would i have to be a nonmatriculated student? 😕

ReplyQuote
(@drdave)
Admin Admin

Not exactly sure how all this works. I am pretty sure you can take bachelors level classes even though you already have your bachelors degree. I know that some people I went to med school with had one career, then went back to night school at one of the local 4 year colleges and only took the pre-med classes - obviously at a bachelors level. I don't know about whether they are considered "matriculated" or "nonmatriculated" students though. I'm guessing you could call one of the local colleges and get this answered without too much hassle.

Good luck!

ReplyQuote
(@corpsman-up)
Estimable Member

Hey there...

I came to med school after my master's degree, and I took a few of the premed sciences during grad school -- (signed up for undergrad classes as a grad student, which was no big deal registration-wise... but a huge pain in the butt as far as adding to the graduate workload).