Notifications
Clear all

Leaving the military... want to become a doctor

3 Posts
2 Users
0 Likes
(@Anonymous)
New Member Guest

I am leaving the Navy soon, and very determined to get into med school. I'll explain my situation and soak up any advice that anyone has to offer.

I am a Navy Corpsman (medic), and decided a couple of years into my enlistment that I wanted to be a doctor; this conclusion I came to after working with several doctors as part of my job.
I work in a small clinic, with a staff of a few other Corpsmen to whom the doctor delegates all "lesser" tasks to during the day...such as sick call, physical appointments, PT admin, f/u care for non-complicated wound treatment, etc. I work under the doctor's license, and write full SOAP notes including Dx, Rxs, and Tx plans...doing this work, and seeing results in patients (in my case Marines) led me to the realization that I could do this for a living.

However...I have virtually no educational background that has prepared me for going to college, not to mention I've never been to college prior to the military. I did well enough in high school (six years ago) to skate by and earn a diploma but not much else.
The military has changed my view on life, and given me disciplines I will use for college. I have hang-ups with going to college however...

I am at a pinnacle of a decision that will determine many factors, including whether to stay in CA or move back to MO. I am frightened that if I score well enough on an ACT/SAT to attend college, I will be in over my head with college level coursework. This leads me to believe that I should go to a community college firstly; however a couple of people have given me the advice that I shouldn't waste my time with community college, that I should just enroll in University and start off with the lowest level courses offered (even if they are not in my major) to "get me back in the game".