Notifications
Clear all

College Freshman deciding between psychology and psychiatry

2 Posts
2 Users
0 Likes
(@Anonymous)
New Member Guest

I have done some research on what it takes to become a Psychiatrist and have found out it is a very challenging,costly, and rigorous path, just like any medical profession. The thing is, it is the one thing I can not get my mind off. I am in my first year of college majoring in psychology and I don't know if i should consider even trying to become a psychiatrist. I have been thinking about it for a year now and all I know is that I want to do one or the other. I want to be a psychiatrist because I'm really interested in abnormal psychology more than any other type and want to be able to help people through treatment more so than counseling. But I just do not have the brain of a scientist. Can someone whose weakest and most difficult subjects are math and science become a physician? Is that possible at all? And I come from a middle-class family where we are able to pay for my nearly $30,000 schooling, but medical school is not something my family could ever afford and I'm afraid would be a burden.
I am in much need of advice, please be honest.
-Allison

ReplyQuote
(@drdave)
Admin Admin

You have plenty of time to decide, so my suggestion is not to stress out much right now with which path you will ultimately want to pursue.

Math has very little role in getting into medical school or being a doctor. You don't even have to take calculus to get into medical school.