Notifications
Clear all

High School Course Plan?

10 Posts
2 Users
0 Likes
(@dauven)
Topic starter  

Howdy. I'm a freshman in High School, and I'm doing a "career exploration project." I'm required to include my "high school course plan," which I gather is supposed to mean that I have to include what classes I would take in high school in order to become a psychiatrist.
Am I right in thinking that as long as I get good grades in advanced classes (basic subjects, science, math, english, etc.), that I'll be able to get into a good college? Is it true that there are "specific classes in high school that you have to take to become a psychiatrist," or is this a misinformed statement?

ReplyQuote
(@drdave)
Admin Admin

There are no specific classes you need to take to become a psychiatrist. The most important thing is for you to do well in high school to get into a solid college. You should take all of the typical classes in the sciences, so that you can take pre-med classes in college.

ReplyQuote
(@dauven)
Topic starter  

This project is a pain in the butt.
I'm supposed to be relying pretty heavily on some surveys I'm taking on various websites (BLS, MassCIS, Monster), but they don't really have the results I was looking for. Should I disregard them?

Also, I'm supposed to be looking at what colleges I would like to go to (in New England). Do you have any suggestions? How much does the college you go to influence your chances of getting into Med-School?

ReplyQuote
(@drdave)
Admin Admin

When you say they don't have the results you were looking for, what do you mean? I have no idea how good the surveys can be at places like that.

I'm not familiar with the colleges out in New England, so I can't help you with that.

I would say for most medical schools, the college you go to won't make that much difference as long as it's not a community college. If you are hoping to go to a really top level medical school, then the college you go to may make some sort of impact.