Clear all

DOES TAKING ADVANCED PLACEMENT SUBJECTS IN HIGH SCHOOL HELP

7 Posts
3 Users
0 Reactions
(@Anonymous)
New Member Guest

HI
i am a high school student in canada and i wanted to know that if i take advanced placement subjects in bio or Chemistry will that help me in any way in taking a addmission in medical school in canada or USA.

ReplyQuote
(@drdave)
Admin Admin

from another thread:

When I was in high school, we had "AP" classes (Advanced Placement). At the end of the year, you can take a standardized national test, and those are scored on a scale of 1-5. Colleges would count certain scores towards college credit. Most medical schools would also count the AP credit towards meeting some of the pre-med requirements. However, some people retake the class in college anyway because the class may be more intense in college than it was in high school, and if some of it is review, it may make for a class to get a higher grade in to help your GPA.

Overall, I don't think it makes much difference regarding how competitive of an applicant you are.

ReplyQuote
(@Anonymous)
New Member Guest

thankyou very much for the reply
i have one more question so there is a chance of going straight to medical college from high school if you take AP courses in bio , chem and do calculus.
how much GPA is required for Medical college admission and how is GPA calculated?

ReplyQuote
(@drdave)
Admin Admin

I haven't heard of anyone taking enough AP classes to skip college entirely - but it's an interesting idea. I do know of the rare prodigy 13 yr old getting into medical school, like recently happened here at University of Chicago. I haven't read about the whole story to see how it all came about though.