Notifications
Clear all

bad pre-calc II grade

4 Posts
3 Users
0 Likes
(@Anonymous)
New Member Guest

So I know you arent college advisors but I am in a pre-calc II class and not doing so great. I had to prioritize my studying for chemistry and got behind. I'm afraid I might end up with a grade that will skew my gpa significantly and I dont know what to do. It is also kind of a pride issue. I can not accept a 5 credit C- or a D on my transcript. I am a A/B student and have a 3.5 right now. I'm not sure wether to retake the class, or to audit it (that means its like it never happened), or accept the grade. I really want to go to OHSU (oregon...) and they suggest a math class besides statistics which I have already fulfilled. I was also reading some posts that say it isnt even required but my pre-med advisor suggested it. Do you think medical schools would turn me away with a grade like that? Or maybe turn me away because it affected my gpa? I dont want to be under qualified when applying so that's why I'm taking it. I am just confused, my pre-pharmacy friend has to take calculus for her program but from what I can see that isnt necessary for me. What do you think?

ReplyQuote
(@drdave)
Admin Admin

I believe most med schools don't have a real requirements for math classes. If you have met OHSU's requirements without your pre-calc II class, then I'd opt to Audit the class - as you don't want a C or below on you transcript and factored into your GPA.

It may still show up on your transcript as a class you "audited" even though it won't show any grade or be factored into your GPA. It'd be pretty easy to just explain in interviews (if even asked) to say that you feel week in math and you wanted to take some more classes, but didn't want to have to worry about the grade, so you audited it. I doubt you'd get any more questions about it.