Clear all

Undergraduate and Graduate Job Prospects

2 Posts
2 Users
0 Likes
(@Anonymous)
New Member Guest

Hello everyone,

I'm currently an undergraduate student working towards medical school. I've been skimming over some of the great information that's on here and it's really been informative, so first off I'd like to say thank you to everyone who has contributed. Currently, my hopeful area of specialization is Psychiatry. As I'm still undergraduate the job options are slim, so I'm working as a pharmacy technician at the moment. It's a decent job, gives me experience with medications, insurance companies, and general customer service. I had went after the job thinking it may provide me with some kind of competitive edge getting into medical school and also the aforementioned experience, but lately I'm not so sure if my time is better spent on my course work. Everyone on here seems fairly knowledgable and experienced, so I'd like to ask some fairly simple questions:

(1) Clearly a job in a pharmacy would make a difference in an application to a pharmacy school, but medical school?
(2) To that end, does medical school look more favorably upon a job or volunteer work; does it matter?
(2) What kind of jobs do people normally work undergraduate and medical school; does it matter?
(3) Is it more preferable to not work a job on focus on studies?
(4) How do you support yourself while in school if you don't have a job? Further, what do you do for disposable income for food, nights out, etc.?