Notifications
Clear all

Social Worker considering Psychiatry

2 Posts
2 Users
0 Reactions
(@Anonymous)
New Member Guest

I am a social worker in a state psychiatric hospital for children and adolescents. I have only been out of school for 16 months and been working at this job for a year, but I'm already feeling unsatisfied with my job and potentially with my career choice. When I was in training I thought that all I wanted to do was therapy and direct care and now I find myself dreading individual and family therapy sessions. This feeling is probably due in part to the acuity of the patients that I deal with and the low functioning of their families, but I wonder if I would be more satisfied in working with them in a different capacity. Social workers do a lot of the "grunt" work while the psychiatrists do more of the problem solving and less of the direct care with patients and their families. I'm starting to think that I would prefer to be making more of the decisions (and money) and that maybe I should go to medical school to become a psychiatrist. My background is in liberal arts and not in math or science, but I have good reasoning skills.

What kinds of things would you suggest that I consider when making this decision and are there any words of advice regarding how to go about the decision making process?

ReplyQuote
(@drdave)
Admin Admin

You do seem to be asking the right general questions. It's too bad that you're not enjoying your work more. It does sound like the setting you are in may just be the wrong setting, moreso than you being in the wrong profession.

I'm curious what made you think that you would like therapy in the first place, and why you are now disappointed. I'm guessing that if you were doing therapy with higher functioning patients / families, you'd enjoy the work more. I'm not sure how available jobs are where you could do that, though.