Notifications
Clear all

Re: Combined Med-Psych/Family-Psych/Peds-Psych-Child Psych

8 Posts
2 Users
0 Likes
(@Anonymous)
New Member Guest

I'm a fourth year medical student who is currently interviewing for combined programs. I wanted to post a thread anonymously (I am a registered member of the site) to allow for open dialogue between applicants, residents, and recent graduates regarding combined programs. Please feel free to share information regarding programs and interview experiences so we can all benefit from the information. I will begin with a response to this posting. Thanks!

ReplyQuote
(@Anonymous)
New Member Guest

Souther Illinois University (Med/Psych)- strong medicine, no longer has combined unit, two dually boarded faculty, well-balanced inpt and outpt medicine experiences, limited pt diversity, new psych program director who grills you with neuropsych questions at interview besides mental status write-up from video-taped patient interview

Case Western Reserve University (FP/Psych)- newer program, strong committment from both departments, academically solid family medicine department, many research opportunities, no dually boarded staff, beginning combined clinic, strong didactics, diverse pt population, friendly residents and faculty/staff

Oklahoma University (FP/Psych)- superb family medicine program, unique psych experiences including eating disorders rotations at nationally recognized institution, limited collaboration between family and psych departments, many moonlighting opportunities, friendly people, no dually boarded faculty (that I can recall), quite a few residents have switched out of combined program over the past few years

ReplyQuote
(@drdave)
Admin Admin

Thanks for starting this thread. I'll contact a few people I know and see if they would be willing to jump in the discussion as well.