Notifications
Clear all

psychiatry residencies

3 Posts
2 Users
0 Likes
(@Anonymous)
New Member Guest

I am a fourth year student am applying to med/psych programs. I have been struggling lately because I believe my heart is in psychiatry, but I had previously been set on medicine. One reason I chose med/psych was because I was afraid of making a hasty decision that I would be sorry for later. I am at least at the point that I want to send my application to some psych programs. However, I have only researched the combined programs. What I would be looking for is a program with an excellent reputation for putting out great psychiatrists, not just a research machine. If I had to estimate, I would say I am an above average student. Any suggestions on some good programs to look into?
Thanks

ReplyQuote
(@drdave)
Admin Admin

Any suggestions on some good programs to look into?

That's a really broad question. It sounds like you are basically looking for a program that will prepare you to be a good clinical psychiatrist, though. There are a lot of good programs for people interested in clinical psychiatry, but more specifics would probably help with recommendations - such as are you looking to get significant psychodynamic or psychotherapy training? Also, do you think you might be more interested in a specific subspecialty within psychiatry, like child or geriatrics? Are you looking to stay in one particular part of the country?

As I only interviewed at combined programs (med-psych and peds-psych-child psych), I don't have that much knowledge of specific psychiatry residency programs.