Notifications
Clear all

PSYCHIATRY

2 Posts
2 Users
0 Likes
(@Anonymous)
New Member Guest

Hello, I'll start by introducing myself, my name is Ofon-Imeh I'm African if you couldn't tell by the name 😉
YES, so I've always wanted to become a pharmacy, maybe because that has been what my mother has said I shall become when I grow up. But lately I've been thinking, I don't want to become a pharmacist, I interned/watched a pharmacist do her job at work and I didn't like it. It was boring and seemed stressful. I'm not good in math, iNEVER was, yet I make B's 😉 I've fallen in love with science, I think its my calling xDDDD I want to become a PSYCHIATRIST !

Well I am a freshman, going to be a sophmore in the fall. My gpa is a 3.6 ! I tend to improve. I want to attend UT Austin, or UNT ! My mom didn't take it lightly when I told her I didn't want to become a pharmacist. I don't want to disappoint her, but its my life, I want to pursue a career that I will truly love and won't mind waking up everyday for. Psychiatrist make alot of money right, because my mom seems to think otherwise ?

I toke pap biology this year, and will be taking ap chemistry in the fall ! I'm also doing dual credit, what courses would you recommend me to take to get most of my college courses out the way, knowing I might be spendingg 16 years in college ? 😆

ReplyQuote
(@drdave)
Admin Admin

As you are only a freshman, you have a long way to go before you need to decide on your ultimate career. Many people recommend that if you take the required pre-med courses as AP courses in high school that you retake them in college, even if you passed out of the course. The alternative would be to take a higher level course in that field in college, which won't necessarily save you time in college. I would think that most pre-med students have taken AP science classes in college, so when you get to college, you may want to see what the pre-med college adviser recommends.