4 Posts
2 Users
0 Likes
(@Anonymous)
New Member Guest

Originally Posted: 2001-12-19 13:56
--------------------
Dr. Admin,

I'm a medical student debating between med/psych and internal medicine. I've found this site quite helpful! I am interested, however, in knowing how difficult it is to maintain dual board certification after completing residency. I assume that there are two entirely separate licensing systems, with different CME requirements, not to mention two vast and different bodies of literature. Have you (or other readers) found it manageable to stay current in both fields?

Thanks,
Warren Kinghorn

ReplyQuote
(@drdave)
Admin Admin

Great questions!

As I just finished residency in June 2001, I have not had too much trouble staying current in both fields. You are correct, that there are two different licensing boards, the American Board of Internal Medicine (ABIM) and the American Board of Psychiatry and Neurology (ABPN).

By doing the combined residency, I am board eligible in both fields. I have already taken and passed the internal medicine boards, so I am not board certified in internal medicine. I have taken the written part of the psychiatry boards, and I should hear in the next month whether I passed. Once I pass the written exam, I will then have to pass an oral psychiatry exam in order to be board certified in psychiatry.

I don't believe there is any difference between CME credits. And I'm not even sure yet what I need them for, other than to maintain my state medical license. I probably need them to keep up board certification as well, but I assume that I can use the same credits towards both fields.

For internal medicine, you now have to take a re-certification exam every 10 years. I'm not sure yet what needs to be done for psychiatry. I'll look into this one.