Notifications
Clear all

Negative connotations to psychiatry?

4 Posts
3 Users
0 Likes
(@Anonymous)
New Member Guest

Hello, I am currently a freshman in college and am thinking about a career in psychiatry. While browsing the internet for info about the psychiatry I came across a number of sites that viciously opposed psychiatry and denigrated the legitimacy of psychiatry as a medical profession... Needless to say, the articles irked me. What does the future of psychiatry look like?
Is there even a future? Is it indeed a "dying" practice? Is the practice of psychiatry looked down upon by other physicians as quackery?

Thanks,
-slightly discouraged possible future psychiatrist
😕 😕 😕

ReplyQuote
(@corpsman-up)
Estimable Member

Hi there.

I've seen similar things on the internet. Hey, I always try to consider the source whenever I read anything hyper-critical like that. Some of the sites I have seen have taken quotes out of context, or quotes from very disagreeable sorts of people, and just gone nuts with them. Well, heck, I can go on the internet and find sites criticizing my religion, my future profession, my favorite football team, or just about anything.

(That being said, I can also find a website purporting that the world's major political leaders are demonic space aliens. Really. It's entertaining, at least, albeit a mite creepy.)

Psychiatry remains on my list of potential future residencies, despite the fact that some people don't like it, for a few reasons.

1) Mental illness is real. People with mental illnesses need help, and a good psychiatrist may be able to help good people lead healthier and more productive lives. That is one of the reasons I want to be a doc in the first place.

2) You can combine psychiatry with internal or family medicine and help people across the board, which is pretty cool in and of itself.

3) Psychiatry isn't going away.