Notifications
Clear all

Need Help for getting into med school!

4 Posts
3 Users
0 Likes
(@chrisshoe1)
Topic starter  

I am posting this in the hopes that I can get a quick reply. I am a recent high school graduate, I start college FOR THE FIRST TIME in 2 weeks. I am enrolled in a four year registered nursing/bachelors of science of nursing program. I go to Texas A&M University Corpus Christi. I have no college credits whatsoever. I had good grades in high school, but I was not in the top 10% or anything. I want to go to medical school after I become a nurse, as soon as it is possible. I need answers to all of these questions.

1.) What are the prerequisites for any med school?
2.) Does the nursing program cover any of those prerequisites?
3.) How long after those four years will it take to cover any remaining prerequisite classes?

Those are just my first three questions. I just need to explain something else. I want to go to a top medical school, in the U.S. preferably. One of the med schools like Harvard or John Hopkins. I know that I haven't even started college yet, and I know that I'm reaching pretty far here. But I am a dreamer and I do have the will, or stubbornness, to try. So I do have a couple of other questions to go along with this.

4.) What do I need to do to get into a top med school like Hardvard or John Hopkins? (It's pretty general I know)
5.) Is Texas A&M University Corpus Christi a good university that a top med school, or any med school, will recognize and accept the prerequisite courses from here?
6.) Besides the normal academic requirements, what social or volunteer work is required to go to Harvard or John Hopkins etc.? (like volunteering, research, work experience etc.)
7.) What can I do during these four years to make my application look better to a top grade medical school? (I want to look VERY appealing to those admissions board memebers)