Clear all

Need Advice re: Psych

2 Posts
2 Users
0 Likes
(@Anonymous)
New Member Guest

Hello,
I am an older student looking at a career as doing therapy in a private practice. I want to know if being a Psychiatrist is more advantageous careerwise to do "talking therapy" than let's say, being a Psychologist. I understand alot of Psychiatrists these days are relegated to administrative positions. I don't want to necessarily do that, I want to talk with people. Could someone help me out with this inquiry? I appreciate any and all replies.
Good day...

Corrected spelling in title

[ Edited by Admin on 2003/8/25 15:40 ]

ReplyQuote
(@drdave)
Admin Admin

I am assuming you are in the united states, as I really don't know how much of what I know applies outside the US. If you are interested in providing therapy, I would recommend you do NOT become a psychiatrist. There are different specialties within psychology, but as a psychologist, you can get excellent training in providing therapy.

If you are interested in also prescribing medications, then you really should become a psychiatrist. In New Mexico, there are some psychologists who are able to prescribe medications under very strict guidelines, but that is definitely the exception and I don't expect other states to follow suit anytime soon. Outside of New Mexico, psychologists can not prescribe meds.