Notifications
Clear all

Need advice on getting in to medschool!!

2 Posts
2 Users
0 Reactions
(@Anonymous)
New Member Guest

I'm a premed student with a psych major, sociology minor, and zoology minor. I am stressing out about being competitive. I have done a lot of research in psychology as well as TA for classes. I have/am starting a couple organizations and hold the title of VP of psychology club. I also work at Disability Support Services on campus. This fall I will be working with children in the autistic spectrum, and have done much more. My question is what more do I need. Should I stress myself out over volunteering as much as I can? Who should I get letters of recomendation from? I have a couple of solid letters from psychology professors but I dont know if that's sufficient. Basically I need to know what is most important for acceptance, it seems so competitive. Right now I have a 3.3 gpa which I dont think will cut it. Is it a good idea to get a letter of recomendation from a physician? I need realistic acceptance advice even if its harsh. On another note, after all of your training does it get easier to deal with blood and other internal fluids/organs, I would think it does but what if you go to medical school and cant handle the real life situations, does that happen? Help!!!!!!!!!

ReplyQuote
(@drdave)
Admin Admin

It seems like you have definitely covered a lot of the "extra" activities that will help make your application look strong. When it comes down to it, though, I really think that GPA and MCAT scores are the most important factors. A 3.3 GPA definitely does not rule you out of going to medical school. Particularly if you do well on your MCATs. Also, was your GPA much lower in science as opposed to non-science classes? I think medical schools generally put more weight on your science classes as they will be more similar to what you'll experience in med school.