Notifications
Clear all

Med School

3 Posts
2 Users
0 Likes
(@Anonymous)
New Member Guest

I have a question. I just recently completed my freshman year at the University of Illinois Chicago. I am majoring in Biological Sciences and minoring in Chemistry. I did very bad my first semester, a 3.8 out of 5 with 30 credit hours achieved. I am very driven and i want to get into medical school at all expenses, i have decided to study like 24/7 now. I am also an athlete there in cross country and track. Am i too late to bad of a GPA to even attempt to be accepted or is there still hope? What other activities can i participate in as well. Thanks
Jim Sulzberger UIC

ReplyQuote
(@Anonymous)
New Member Guest

anyone?

ReplyQuote
(@drdave)
Admin Admin

I apologize for the delay in responding - sometimes my day job keeps me busy 🙂

I think that your first semester GPA can be explained as an "adjustment" period when starting college, but you would probably want to be able to explain why you had a more difficult "adjustment" period than other people applying for medical school. Based on a 3.8 GPA, I'm guessing this means that you had B's and C's. I think that you can still get into medical school having gotten a C in a science class, especially if you do well the rest of college and do well on your MCATs. I have heard some people suggest people re-take the pre-med science classes they did poorly in to demonstrate that they are able to get good grades in those classes - I honestly don't know how helpful this is.

As for your main question whether it is too late or not, I think there is still hope - although I personally don't have anything definitive to base this on. Unfortunately I have never sat on any admissions committees to see what sort of grades would absolutely rule someone out.