Notifications
Clear all

med/psych residency

3 Posts
2 Users
0 Likes
(@Anonymous)
New Member Guest

I am a 3rd year med student and am strongly considering seeking a med/psych combined residency. I am concerned because I am from a small school that does not have such a program. which means I will have to compete with students from larger, more reputable schools for scarce spots on their home turf. Any advice as to how I can make myself a more competitive candidate? (4th year scheduling, letters, etc). I have strong evaluations, esp in medicine - but our psych dept is especially small and currently struggling (there is no psych residency at all). What are my chances?
Thanks

ReplyQuote
(@drdave)
Admin Admin

I'd say you have a very good chance of getting into a combined med-psych program.

First of all, remember, most people go to med school somewhere that does NOT have a combined program - there are only a handful of places that offer them. I'd say it is a small minority that attend a combined program at the same place they went to med school. I personally don't think they had an advantage because they went to that school - the few I can think of were excellent students and residents and could have gone just about anywhere.

Second, there were many unfilled slots in combined programs this past year - while some of the programs are probably fairly competitive, there are several programs that are not. Additionally, even the competitive programs may not be as competitive as you are thinking.

Third, I don't think it matters all that much where you went to medical school - there is no such thing as an "easy" medical school these days - you have to be pretty good to get into any med school.

Fourth, psych departments are struggling at MANY places, as are many other academic departments. Changes in the way medical services are being financed is really hurting medical education in this country (in my opinion at least).