Notifications
Clear all

Freshman interested in psychiatry, psychology, and counseling

2 Posts
2 Users
0 Likes
(@Anonymous)
New Member Guest

I am a freshman in college and the best thing for those of you still in high school is go to your school counselor and talk to them. Some things to keep in mind is take alot of science classes you will be trying to get into medical school at some point. As you look at schools you have to go and get a 4 year degree in psychology so i would do that first then you can also go for pre-med too. After that is med school the best thing to get in is go to a large university they typically acccept students from their school first into med school, and med school is very very competitive so any leg up will help. You also have to maintain a high GPA shoot for a 3.5. Join club especialy a psychology club in college, there is an honors club you can apply for in you last year of college called psi-chi and for that you have to have a 3.5. Volenteer, get internships and participate in studys at your university. However DO NOT get psychiatrist and psychologist mixed up. A psychiatrist is a M.D. (medical doctor) they perscribe medication, a psycologist has either a Ph.D. or a Psy.D.(Doctorate of either philosphy or psychology). If you want to be more one on one with people you will be looking at either counceling or clinical psychology. In alot of states insurance only covers so much of your mental health bills so most of the time you see a clinical psychologist twice at the begining and the end, other than that you talk to a counselor. No matter how much mental heath services your insurance pays for you typically only see a psychiatrist twice to evaluate. A psychiatrist is in school for 8 years then has an internship of 4 years after. To be a psychologist you have your four year degree then you masters 2 years then you doctorate 6-8 years so no mater what you are in school for a while, but again if you really want to help people go into counce