Notifications
Clear all

behaviorism and psychiatry

4 Posts
3 Users
0 Likes
(@Anonymous)
New Member Guest

I am a student interested in psychiatry. I have a lot of influence from my father in law who is an ER doctor to pursue a medical career. However I am also a psychology major and I am worried that I will not be able to treat patients using behavior modification. My philosophy is that you have to treat the individual as a whole, not only with medication but also therapy that addresses problems in the persons social surroundings i.e. parents, school, friends etc. basically implement coping mechanisms and education along with understanding of the illness. Would I be able to tailor my style of treatment to my beliefs about therapy or be stuck strictly prescibing medications? Is it practical to want to become a psychiatrist but still be so passionate about behaviorism? I think it is because to have/make a behavior something must change physiologically.

ReplyQuote
(@corpsman-up)
Estimable Member

Well, heck, I would think that it is important for you stay true to your views!

Regardless of where you attend medical school, just make sure that you check out psychiatry residency programs really well before you go for the residency match. (This is in the 4th year of med school, so you have some time). Some residencies are more therapy-friendly than others.

Now, I am not a psychiatrist, I am a medical student, but from what I have seen so far, people practice the kind of medicine that they want to practice. If you want to focus less on med management, and more on therapy, you'll likely be able to do just that. However, I think that even if you are utilizing therapy and other tools, you will be all the more effective with your pharmacological knowledge and expertise to augment treatment... IMHO.