Notifications
Clear all

Community College, Med School, and Psychiatry.

7 Posts
4 Users
0 Likes
(@corpsebean)
Topic starter  

Hi guys, I just have a few questions about my situation.

I have been attending a community college for 3 years now, this is the beginning of my third year. My first year I only achieved a total of 18 units and my first year and a half yielded only a 2.3 gpa.

I cannot in all honesty say I was putting in my full effort at that time, but my college career beginnings were greatly affected by my mother, who is the only family I have, lapsing back into chronic depression ( a lifelong battle for her) and being bedridden and unemployed for nearly a year.

Fast Foward to now. I have had a 4.0 my past two semesters and currently have a 3.0. I am still about 20 units away from transfer, but I feel I can leave with a 3.5 at least. I have set my sights on Medical School and Psychiatry primarily because Psychology fascinates me, but probably also because of my experiences with my mom and the desire to do something about that situation for other people.

My plan is to dual major in Psychology and either Nurition or Biology, although I could change my mind about the second major.

Anyhow, now that I gave some background, my questions were these.

1. I am currently at a CC and I have the option of doing a guaranteed transfer to UC Davis via their TAA program, which requires a few of the med school requirement classes. It is my understanding that taking the four med requirement classes at a CC is looked down upon, and I would be better off waiting until I reach a four year univeristy to take these classes. Is this accurate?

2. Will attending a community college in the first place be a hinderance on me? Not to mention my less than stellar beginning performance?

3. Do you guys suggest taking an MCAT preparation course or tutoring? If so, any specific suggestions?