Clear all

Undergrad Junior looking to become a psychiatrist

2 Posts
2 Users
0 Likes
(@schultzy0123)
Topic starter  

Hello, this is actually my first post!

So basically, throughout college I have been trying to find out exactly what I want to do in the future. I am almost positive it will be having to do with psychology in some way. As a little background into my personal situation, because I didnt like the fact that I would have to take years and years of schooling after college, when I was a freshman I quickly wrote off that career choice and because of it, am missing out on physics and chemistry which I know are required before going into medical school. Besides that, I have done biology and have a considerable amount of psychology courses and my overall GPA is a 3.44. My question is that could I take the required courses of physics and chemistry in a year while being a part time student at my current university (University of Colorado @ Boulder) while also volunteering/working at the local mental hospital and then still be on track for going to medical school following that 5th year of school in a sense? I apologize in advance if this seems not thought out but very recently I have found that I am starting to become very passionate in the clinical field of psychology and kind of feel like I have messed up my opportunity to get all my pre-med stuff done.

Ultimately, I know that I have to motivation to do it, but just want some more professional advice on my chances of actually getting into medical school with my GPA and class choices I have made already.

If you need any more information, feel free to ask and I will respond ASAP

ReplyQuote
(@drdave)
Admin Admin

Schultzy0123,