Notifications
Clear all

Is Psychology a good major for a pre-med student?

2 Posts
2 Users
0 Likes
10.4 K Views
(@Anonymous)
New Member Guest

Hello,
I am a first year student at Ohio University. I understand that the path to Med school and residency is challenging and requires a substantial amount of hard work and intelligence. I haven't actually declared a major yet, but I have been in and plan to focus on psychology courses and the courses required for acceptance to med school. I read somewhere that Psychology isn't exactly considered a great major if one is pursuing a medical career because it is known as an easy degree. I would like to be a psychiatrist. Also, I had trouble in my fall quarter with biology and calculus and plan to take them again. I never studied in high school and good grades came easy to me. I was expecting college to be the same. I am actually really good with calculus and was pretty much repeating it because I took a similar course in high school. I just missed an important test. Biology is another thing. I'm trying to learn better study habits, and I am doing very well in my current classes. So... my questions for you. Is psychology a good major? Would someone with a psychology degree be able to compete with someone with a biology or chemistry degree? If I put my nose in the books that matter and receive a good GPA, would the poor grades from my first quarter of freshman year not look so terrible? I tend to think a lot, and my thinking leads to potential failures, which scares me into choosing an easier career path, but I want a challenge. I don't want something easy, and I don't want to regret not pursuing medicine.
Thanks.

ReplyQuote
(@drdave)
Admin Admin

yesmar14,