Clear all

Low undergrad GPA, high MBA GPA interested in med school

4 Posts
2 Users
0 Likes
(@Anonymous)
New Member Guest

Hi Dr. Dave,

I've read through much of your Q&A's here and unless I've missed something, my question has not been specifically asked.

I went to Ohio University and received my BBA in 5 years with a 2.48 GPA in 2005. I was having family cohesion issues and feel into depression which resulted in gained weight (reached nearly 400 lbs) and sleep apnea which went undiagnosed and untreated until I graduated from OU. I have taken zero sciences.

I've been in the work force for 8 years now and am a successful data analyst with a fortune 500 company with good pay, am fiscally sound with savings to boot, have lost and kept off the gained weight (200lbs lost), and just completed my MBA at Franklin University in Ohio with a 3.97 GPA. Some of this is not relevant on paper but gives perspective as to who I am as a person, driven to succeed.

My father is a physician with his own practice and my mother his office manager/RN so I come from medicine. While at OU I wanted nothing to do with my father's profession due to the aforementioned "family cohesion issues" and have since come to realize that I'm cut out for nothing less than the life of a doctor. I was born to help and in my mind there is no higher purpose than increasing quality of life and/or saving a life.

I'm about to begin taking all of my science pre-reqs (school undecided) which I fully intend to Ace like my MBA coursework. Being established in the Columbus, Ohio area I'd very much like to stay here and attend Ohio State University's Medical School. I have no doubt that I will flourish in Medical School once accepted, my only real concern is getting in.

My questions:

1. Does it matter which 4 year college I take my pre-reqs at?
2. Do you believe my 2.48 undergrad GPA in 2005 will matter if I Ace all of my sciences and with my 3.97 MBA GPA?