Notifications
Clear all

List of med schools that accept AP credit?

4 Posts
2 Users
0 Likes
(@Anonymous)
New Member Guest

Hello. I just graduated from college, and am taking a year to work. I graduated in three years though, and therefore did not take physics in college, plus one semester of chemistry. I took extra biology and received all As, orgo and got As, and have finished my MCAT and receieved decent scores (although my phy sci score isnt unbelievable, it's acceptable, and my others are above 95%tile) So, is there a list of schools that accept these credits, I dont want to apply and find out later they dont accept them. I also want to work in health policy, not practice, so a part of me feels I dont need them....if anyone could help that would be great.

ReplyQuote
(@drdave)
Admin Admin

You didn't say which AP classes you had taken in high school, but I'm guessing it was physics and chemistry - as those were classes you skipped in college. Did the college give you credit on your transcript for 1 year of physics and 1 semester of chemistry from your AP coursework? If so, I'm guessing most medical schools will count that as sufficient.

I did not take physics in college, but had taken AP physics and they gave me a full year of credit in college. I don't remember spending any time checking to see how the med schools would count that either, but I probably contacted each of the ones I was applying to to see if it would count or not.

If I were in your situation, I would check with a few of the med schools you would consider and ask them how they handle AP coursework and not having taken the class in college.

Getting into medical school will have the same requirements whether you want to go into health policy work or become a practicing surgeon. However, you will probably want to consider some of the combined MD/MPH (Masters in Public Health) programs - assuming that is the type of health policy you are referring to.

ReplyQuote
(@Anonymous)
New Member Guest