Clear all

Graduated 5 years ago and thinking about medical school

2 Posts
2 Users
0 Likes
(@timothy)
Topic starter  

Hi Dr. Dave,

I'm interested in applying for medical school during the 2012 applicant dates as I've already missed the 2011 round. So I'd like to have some mental preparation on things I need to get done, and perhaps some advice on how to get such things done:

First of all, I graduated from a recognized university (UCLA) with a degree in Physiology, so I have completed the relevant course work. The problem is, I graduated 5 years ago (2006), so
1) I'm uncertain whether Med School Programs require that relevant courses be taken within a certain time period
2) And even if such latent courses still count, I'm uncertain how much harm this huge gap would have on my MCAT preparation

Under these circumstances, how effective would it be to just visit my local bookstore and pick up MCAT books for review given I'm descent at self-study? Unless Med School Programs do have a timeframe in which curriculum qualifications expire, I can't see myself enrolling in individual courses I've already taken, but at the same time I'm concerned I might not have such a good grasp on the material anymore. Given it is not so bad an idea to pursue self-review (or even take a Kaplan/Princeton course), what courses or material can you recommend to prep for the MCAT given these special circumstances.

Finally, I want to mention that I just picked up a Masters in Public Health Administration from an International University, and have a variety of work experience from healthcare to everything from logistics and advertising. Will these factors influence my application or any of the items mentioned above.

Thanks for your thoughts in advance.

Tim

ReplyQuote
(@drdave)
Admin Admin

Timothy,