Notifications
Clear all

Re: thinking Outloud

12 Posts
3 Users
0 Likes
(@Anonymous)
New Member Guest

I'm studying to be an psychologist and I was just thinking that if you are an un expierenced pyschologist in a small town what is even the point ! My passion is tobe a psychologist and it always has been! I know that most psychologists are successful (atleast teh few i've met) but theres never been a full time psychologist in my town and i was just thinking how am I going to get started! And moving isn't an option! (family complications) Just thinking outloud!

Confused 🙁

ReplyQuote
(@polymath)
Trusted Member

If you want to be a psychologist, you have to go where the training is. That's the only way to get the degree and training needed. You get the training, do the necessary clinical work, and then move where you wish with the experience necessary.

So what's not clear about that?

ReplyQuote
(@Anonymous)
New Member Guest

how long does it take to become a pyschologist?

ReplyQuote
(@Anonymous)
New Member Guest

I know that I have to do the training its just that I would have to work near home because I have to take care of a family member so I can't move away and I can't move her! The problem was finding work once I get out of training. Not taking the training itself!

ReplyQuote
(@Anonymous)
New Member Guest

I know that I have to do the training its just that I would have to work near home because I have to take care of a family member so I can't move away and I can't move her! The problem was finding work once I get out of training. Not taking the training itself!

🙁 Confused

ReplyQuote
(@jl87d)

I'm sorry, but I'm having trouble seeing your problem. There seems to be a major error in logic 😕 . If you already know that you'll be capable of doing the training/residency in your area, then why would you be unable to find a position in your area? There is obviously some one practicing in your area in order for you to be able to complete a residency there.