Clear all

private practice?

4 Posts
3 Users
0 Likes
(@Anonymous)
New Member Guest

hello,
I am an undergrad who is currently working on my way to become a physician. In the future I really hope i can have my own private office instead of working in a hospital, since our school invited 3 doctors who work in a hospital to give us a presentation about their job, and all of them said that they work "at least" 60 hous per week.
Am I right that the job of physician is absolutely overwhelming if working in a hospital? In what fields of specialty do physicians generally practice in private settings?
A psychitrist mentioned in another posting thread that he works 4 days a week and his wife 3 days a week in private practice. (I am so sorry that I didn't remember your name!) I am wondering if your working schedule started like this after you finished your residency, or your hours of working can only be reduced to this amount quite some years after you have run your private clinic-- I am asking this because I heard setting up one's own clinic is usually difficult in the beginning.

I am a girl who also wants to have a balanced life between family and job in health care. Some people suggests me to look into other professions such as dentistry or optometry because the residency programs are shorter and that way I will have a few more years to have kids and stuff. Although I still think medicine is something I am more excited about than other other health professions, I am debating if I should go for those alternative choices since it seems ultra tough to maintain the balance in life with a career in medicine.

My mom says dentistry is a good alternative way to go for, since that's treating patients anyway. Can any M.D. kindly tell me what they think about this?