Clear all

High School Classes to Become a Psychiatrist

84 Posts
3 Users
0 Likes
85.6 K Views
(@Anonymous)
New Member Guest

hello, my name is and i am a sophomore in high school. i stumbled upon this website today and i found it extremely interesting. i am planning on pursuing a career as a psychiatrist, but i have no idea where to start. my parents don't know anything about psychiatry or the schooling required to be a psychiartist, seeing as how they never went to medical school or anything of the sort. i would give up, but i am so interested in psychiatry that i cannot. whenever you have spare time, is there any way that you could email me back with anything that you think is important to know in order to be successful in having this career? please include what classes i need to take. so far in my high school career i have taken honors science I, chemistry, and science II, but not many math classes...i really hate math. please email me back at:
. thank you in advance so much for your time and effort.

ReplyQuote
(@drdave)
Admin Admin

Glad you like the site. Sophomore year in high school is a long way before you need to make a decision on what you want to do with your life. While being a psychiatrist is a great career in many ways, there are many other great careers out there. Most people don't choose their career until some point in college. Most doctors don't choose their specialty until their 3 year of medical school.

In high school, your specific courses won't make that much difference. If you take AP biology and AP chemistry, you still may want to take those courses in college - as they will be more intense than the high school AP course. I did take AP chemistry, and still took an honors version of chemistry in college. However, I took AP physics and did not have to take any physics in college.