2 Posts
2 Users
0 Likes
(@Anonymous)
New Member Guest

Originally Posted: 2001-10-20 17:55
------------------------------------------------------------
Hi Dr.Admin,

I am a dr in Kenya interested in doing a Med-Psych. residency in the US in 2002. I have little knowledge in evaluating a program. First, I would like to hear your experience of the program which according to your web site, you should have completed in June 2001. I am currently working on my ERAS applications.

I have been browsing a few web sites on the program but would like your advice. These are:
1. Wayne State/DMC;

2. UMDNJ-Robert Wood Johnson Med. School-NJ;

3. SUNY- Health Sciences Center at Brooklyn-NY;

4. Rush Presbytarian -St.Luke's-IL;

5. Duke university.

I choose these from the ACP-ASIM Online site, and I considered the location and the size of the programs. I would really appreciate your advive.

Thanks.

Sandeep.

ReplyQuote
(@drdave)
Admin Admin

Originally Posted: 2001-10-21 00:07
------------------------------------------------------------
As for Iowa's program, it is one of the older programs around graduating many people who have gone on to do well. Both departments provide very solid education within their fields. The internal medicine program is a fairly typical academic type program with most of the patient care the responsibility of residents with faculty supervision, rather than the private hospital residencies where the faculty do most patient care and the residents "help out".

The psychiatry program is one of the more biologically based programs you'll find. I believe I have developed excellent skills in diagnosis, treatment, and the empirically validated treatments. Experience with psychodynamic approaches is very limited in Iowa.