Clear all

career as a psychiatrist - foreign graduate

9 Posts
2 Users
0 Likes
(@Anonymous)
New Member Guest

Hi to everyone.
I am currently a high school graduate who is considering attending medical school and after that specialize in psychiatry. But the thing that is blocking me to move forward is that I do not want to work with people with severe mental illnesses, at least for a long period.( Could work for some cases but not frequently). I have been accepted in the faculty of psychology in the university which is considered the best here(I'm non-US citizen). but the thing is that I really like medicine, biochemistry, anatomy and biology and i'm pretty good at sciences, actually I had a biotechnology major in high school which consists of biology, biotechnology, chemistry and biochemistry so I have a strong background in sciences. I would like to be the type of psychiatrist who does psychotherapy more than psychiatrists do nowadays in addition to medication management( I am interested about medications and how they function). Ive read on the Royal College of Psychiatry that there is a subspeciality of psychiatry which is medical psychotherapy but I didn't see that there is a subspeciality of that kind in US universities(im interested to attend one of US top universities during residency). so my problem is divided into two:
Can I specialize in medical psychotherapy while being a psychiatry resident and if no , can I be a psychiatrist who does psychotherapy and also does medication management when needed and earn a good living( $12-16k a month or an annual salary around $180,000-considering living in the US-)?
the second thing is that when is the best time to start a private practice? Will it much differ if I started maybe right after graduation or 5 years after?
Hope getting an answer ASAP because time is crucial to me atm.

ReplyQuote
(@drdave)
Admin Admin

psych11223,