Notifications
Clear all

Re: What if i didn't do so well in my pre-med classes?

12 Posts
5 Users
0 Likes
(@Anonymous)
New Member Guest

Hi,

I am currently a 4th year biology student and considering medical school. However, my grades aren't so terrific for medical school and I would like to know what is the best plan I can do now to be accepted into medical school...i.e. should I do postbac to strengthen myself as an applicant by retaking my pre-med courses and get a better grade or should I continue on with my current "not-so-terrific" grades and take the MCATS and apply to med. school? 😕

ReplyQuote
(@jl87d)

First, what were your grades? Could you submit both your over-all gpa, and the gpa for your pre-med classes? They would be very helpful in giving you the best possible advice.

Second, do you feel comfortable taking the mcats right now? Do you think your prepared to score well on them presently? Even if you did not get the best grades, you may have learned a lot in your classes. If not, you may need to do some post-bac. studies to prepare yourself.

Thirdly, in the state that you reside, do any of the state schools have MD programes? It's often easier to gain admittance to one's state school.

Jl87d,
🙂 (-:

ReplyQuote
(@bibliophile)

Hi all,

So I am obviously not the original person who posted the question, but I'm very much interested in the answer. I'm currently a junior at a competitive college working towards completing pre-med courses, a psychology major, and an English literature minor; according to my pre-med advisor and medical schools I've contacted for the purpose of asking this question, my college is competitive enough (and suffers from enough grade deflation) that medical schools will usually add 0.2 to both my overall GPA and my math/science GPA when considering my application.