Clear all

terrible obstacle in the way of premed classes

9 Posts
4 Users
0 Likes
(@onelove)
Eminent Member
Topic starter  

I am transferring to a different school this spring ( I am a freshman still). I've yet to take any premed classes. I just found out the college that I am going to transfer into dosen't offer intro courses for the spring semesters. This means that I have to start my premed courses sophomore year. I'm not sure what to do about this situation.

ReplyQuote
(@polymath)
Trusted Member

If you have your mind made up to transfer, then I guess you have to live with the drawbacks as well as the advantages. Is it really going to matter a great deal? Many people don't yet know they plan to apply to med school by their freshman year, and they manage to get the prereqs done.

Maybe you could find some non-prerequisite courses that might even be interesting and valuable to take. Or is that absurd?

ReplyQuote
(@corpsman-up)
Estimable Member

Hey.

Honestly, this isn't really a TERRIBLE obstacle. If it was, there would be a lot fewer docs out there. Heck, many (I am tempted to say most) schools don't offer premedical science courses out of sequence.

While that sucks if you are planning on starting them mid-year, I would suggest that Dr. Polymath has offered you some great options. Use the time to take some other classes that interest you, or to bang out some tough core curriculum classes that would take away from MCAT studies later. You can turn this into a positive situation, I am sure!

Starting the pre-reqs as a soph is EARLY compared to me! I didn't decide to go to med school until I was about to start grad school, and it all worked out.

Good luck, and enjoy your transfer.

Oh, and get out and vote today! 😀

Curtis Nordstrom

ReplyQuote
(@onelove)
Eminent Member
Topic starter  

I suppose the best thing to do would be to get started on my pysch classes and possibly get some cores out of the way...

ReplyQuote
(@Anonymous)
New Member Guest