Clear all

PreMed Masters Programs/Majors

5 Posts
2 Users
0 Likes
(@Anonymous)
New Member Guest

Hi,

So my situation is a little unusual for Medical School. I am a senior in my undergraduate major of Biomedical engineering. I have a desire to go to medical school and will complete all of the premed course requirements by the time I graduate. However I was not prepared to take the MCATs last spring or this summer. I have a desire to get a masters before going to medical school.

Are there any good areas which I should do my masters? Or are there any programs which cater to students who desire to attend medical school following their masters? Should I get my masters in Biomedical Engineering if I enjoy it or do more of a science major?

I'd appreciate as much advice as possible since many of these questions are opinion based.

Thank you!
Lindsey
[email protected]

ReplyQuote
(@drdave)
Admin Admin

Your situation is not as unusual as you might think. There are many people who are not ready for medical school right after college.

I would suggest you get your Masters degree in whatever field interests you the most. It does not make that much difference what your major is regarding getting accepted into medical school.

I'm not aware of any particular programs that will be better than any others, as overall the most important things will be your grade point average and your MCAT scores.

Best of luck preparing and taking the MCATs!

ReplyQuote
(@Anonymous)
New Member Guest

I earned a master's degree (health sciences/health promotion) before medical school, although in my case it was - at least partially - the graduate work that showed me how much I wanted to go to medical school!