Notifications
Clear all

Pre-med course work

8 Posts
2 Users
0 Likes
(@philer)
Topic starter  

Hi all, my first post here and I would appreciate some clarity regarding the pre-med course work and my shot at medical school. I graduated this May with a BS in Finance, and decided I don't like the business environment, however I did enjoy the studying and education process of learning. I am interested in applying to med school. I have no science pre-requisites or health care experience. I applied to HUNTER colleges post-bacc program for Spring 2010 but sadly was not accepted. As a backup plan I also applied to Montclair State University to take the individual pre-req classes since I have been told by friends and other forums that med schools do no necessarily care if you completed a program as opposed to individual classes. I will also complete the classes more quickly individually and it will offer me some flexibility with regards to looking for health care experience. Here is my plan, I would like to go to classes during the day and at night take an EMT-Basic course, which will take six months to complete and afterward I can work part-time as an EMT or volunteer. Now my main concern is the classes which I am registered for. I am aware of the pre-med requirements that the majority of med demand be completed before entering, but I am not certain if one I am registered for will satisfy the criteria. I am registered for: BIOL-112-08 PRINCIPLES OF BIOL I, MATH-122-01 CALCULUS I, and CHEM-113-04
FUNDAMENTALS OF CHEMISTRY. I am awaiting a response from the school department to clarify whether med school will accept Fundamentals of Chem with the same qualifications as General chemistry, and also whether principles of biology is the same as general biology. I know it is rare that gen bio and gen chem are offered in the spring since they are usually designed to accommodate first year students, but any input will be much appreciated. Thanks!

ReplyQuote
(@drdave)
Admin Admin