Clear all

Med School - majors and undergraduate colleges

2 Posts
2 Users
0 Likes
(@k-kaur)
Topic starter  

Hello,

I’ll be graduating from high school this June and I plan to become a pediatrician. My first question is about majoring in psychology. Psychology really interests me but some people say i shouldn’t do that and some people say I should. So I’m confused about that. Can anybody clear that up for me?

Second question is where should I go? I got accepted to two UW campuses, Central Washington University, and Washington State University. After I get my undergrad degree I'd like to go to the University of WA medical school. If I do choose to go to one of the UW campuses...would there be any advantages when I apply to the UW medical school?

Also, I know there are certain requirements to get into a med. school. But I’m a Running Start student (attending a comm. college full time while in high school) so I was wondering if I take some sciences classes now would they count towards the med. school requirements?

Thank you for all your help!

ReplyQuote
(@drdave)
Admin Admin

Major makes virtually no difference in a medical school application. I have two suggestions as to selecting a major:

1. Take classes you find interesting.
2. Major in a field that will provide you with career options if medical school doesn't work out. I initially wanted to major in philosophy and during my first winter break I mentioned this to my dad. He asked me what I'd do with that if medical school didn't work out. I realized he had a good point and wound up majoring in chemistry with a minor in philosophy. If I hadn't gone on to medical school, I would have probably gotten a PhD in chemistry. If I had a philosophy degree, my main option would have been going on to be a professor in philosophy. While that may have been an interesting career, I think I would have struggled to find a job, etc.