Notifications
Clear all

International Medical Graduates - guidance required!!!

5 Posts
2 Users
0 Likes
(@Anonymous)
New Member Guest

i am a medical graduate from india. i have a keen desire to do my residency in psychiatry.however, i want to firstdo a master's in the neurobiology of stress or behavioural neuroscience(MS)
due to the difference of academic schedules of the two countries i stand to lose a year. so instead, i want to do a two yr MS and then start my residency.
this, according to me will also improve my CV as i feel that recommendation letters of US professors are taken to be more uniform and genuine and i stand to get into a better program.
additionally it will fulfil a long term wish, to resarch on STRESS.
please guide me about my plan with words of advice.and how should i go about it.
regards.

ReplyQuote
(@drdave)
Admin Admin

Seems to be a well thought out plan for a few reasons. First of all - even with doing the MS program, I am thinking that it remains difficult for international medical grads to match in US programs. However, if you are doing a masters program that is something that interests you - you really haven't lost anything by taking the time to pursue that program.

Additionally, I agree that doing some work in the US would be a help to you. The letters from US professors would be somewhat more helpful - although I think that the letters from doing clinical rotations are the most important. How you work in a lab doesn't really tell a residency program how you would perform on clinical rotations. I'm not sure how you get around this - perhaps there are ways to do externship clinical rotations of some type.

Also, if the person you are doing research with is on faculty in the psychiatry department, it may give you an "in" in getting a direct recommendation to their program.

Just some thoughts, but again, this is a little out of my area of expertise.

ReplyQuote
(@Anonymous)
New Member Guest