Notifications
Clear all

how much does the college matter?

8 Posts
2 Users
0 Likes
(@Anonymous)
New Member Guest

I am a student at Queens College in NYC, which is a City University. I was wondering how much impact the reputation of the college has on med school admissions. If i meet all the requirements, are my chances still hindered by the fact that I go to Queens College and not NYU or Columbia?

ReplyQuote
(@drdave)
Admin Admin

Most 4 year universities are going to be okay to get into a medical school, assuming they have the pre-med classes offered that you need. If the school does not have a great reputation, you'll need to get great grades in all of your classes, and do well on the MCAT (which is also true at a school with a great reputation actually, but not to the same degree). I think that if you want to go to the top tier of medical schools, then it will be very tough coming from an average college.

I don't know anything about Queens College, so I can't really say about how that particular school will effect your chances of acceptance.

ReplyQuote
(@Anonymous)
New Member Guest

Queens college offers all the courses and it isnt a bad college. It just average, like you said. Also my grades have been very good thus far, even though I just finished only my first year. So you think it is a good idea to attempt to transfer out?

BTW, thanks for your input. I really appreciate it.

ReplyQuote
(@drdave)
Admin Admin

I would see if you could talk to one of the college advisors / counselors. See if they have any information on how successful their students are at getting accepted into medical schools. That would probably give you the most information.