Notifications
Clear all

Competitive Psychiatry Residencies

3 Posts
2 Users
0 Likes
(@Anonymous)
New Member Guest

I'm a 4th year medical student who recently decided to apply to psychiatry residencies. Eventually, I would like to pursue a fellowship in Neuropsych or Forensics. I also would like to stay in the northeast (Boston, New York, Philadelphia). Could you tell me which psychiatry residency programs are considered competitive for this geographic region, or point me to a resource with this information? By competitive, I mean a program that will give me the greatest chance of securing a fellowship afterward.

Also, I'm curious as to my chances of getting into one of these programs. Since I just made the decision within the last month, I haven't had the chance to speak to anyone about this. I honored most of my pre-clinical classes, and high-passed the rest, with a couple of passes. As for my clinical years: honors in psych, peds, and ob/gyn. High passes in the other 3. USMLE Step 1: 248/99. Also have significant extracurriculars, but none in psych, and only premed research with no publications. Thanks!

ReplyQuote
(@drdave)
Admin Admin

Just off the top of my head, the competitive programs have generally been Columbia, Mass General, and Harvard's other psychiatry programs. I'm sure there are others, but I'm not that familiar with the northeast part of the US. I would ask to have a meeting with the chairman of your psychiatry department to talk to him/her about your interest and get his/her impressions. Also, if you are doing any 4th year electives in psychiatry, you should talk to the attendings to get their perspective. I'm a bit out of the psychiatry loop now that I'm 5 years out of residency, and 10 years out of looking into psychiatry residency programs.