Notifications
Clear all

Poor GPA and what to do!?

4 Posts
4 Users
0 Likes
(@Anonymous)
New Member Guest

I finished school recently with a B.S. in Psychology. Though I finished, I have a poor GPA, the result of early immaturity in college which seems to keep me out of graduate programs, let alone medical school. What do you suggest I do if I want to attend medical school, have the brains to do it, but not the record? Are there any programs that help students who are capable but screwed up earlier in life? Are we merely doomed from our college fr./soph. youth?

ReplyQuote
 mgm
(@mgm)

As someone who was in the same situation when graduating from college and now a PhD - let me share my journey. I went back to undergraduate school and took education and biology courses and brought up my GPA. I also worked in a lab and managed to become 2nd author on several publications(8 articles). This helped me get into a Master's prgram. The Master's degree provided evidence of my capabilities in academics. I also studied very hard for my GRE exam.

It was definately the longer route, but the only way to get into a doctoral program or medical school is to do the extra work to prove that you are capable. Why should a school invest their time and money in what appears to be a long shot? You have to show them you are a sure thing and that you extremely dedicated, and are now mature enough to put in the extra time & effort to get to your goal. They can't take your word for it - you must provide proof.

(extra hint: I am now the Director of Academic Support in a School of Medicine and having an outstanding score on your MCAT will really help your application. Also, doing research at a teaching hospital that has medical school will help you network - it always helps to have recommendations from faculty that the admissions committee knows).

[ Edited by mgm on 2004/1/5 9:58 ]

ReplyQuote
(@drdave)
Admin Admin