Notifications
Clear all

med school math requirements

2 Posts
2 Users
0 Likes
(@Anonymous)
New Member Guest

I'm currently ending my sophomore year at PSU and I'm not sure about certain classes I need for med school. Specifically, I'm unsure about calculus. I'm a B.S. in Psychology w/ neuroscience major and minor in bio, my gpa is at a 3.96. Unfortunately, my major does not require calc, even though people use the major to get into med school. I'm currently taking calc 1 now as an extra class, but I'm not performing up to my potential. It's my first time ever exposed to calc material and I currently have around a C+ - B-. At my school it is an extremely demanding due to our top engineering program and at least half drop it their first time around. I was wondering if I were to drop the class because of it hurting my gpa, should I retake it? or should I just not even bother? I know not many schools require the class and I did take a 200-level psych class and got an A in it. I'm really unsure of what to do, especially because my current adviser has absolutely no clue of what is even needed for med school. Please help :/

ReplyQuote
(@drdave)
Admin Admin

rms5365ar,

Congratulations on having such a high GPA thus far. There are a few issues regarding how to handle your current class.

1. You should find out if the medical schools in which you are most likely to apply have a calculus requirement. While you can look in the AMSA's guide to medical schools, I was able to find great current information at this link regarding math requirements for medical schools . The table is obviously the meat of the information, however, to give a brief overview of what is included:

About 40 % of U.S. medical schools have a formal requirement for mathematics, although the specific math
requirements vary extensively from school to school. Many medical schools will accept AP or IB credits to meet