Notifications
Clear all

Finishing undergrad - now considering medical school

5 Posts
3 Users
0 Likes
(@Anonymous)
New Member Guest

I am doing my undergrad now. I am in my final year of a double major in psychology and social work. My goal was to apply to a masters or PhD program next year in social work or psychology but I am thinking I may want to go to med school. I do not want to go and get another 4 year degree so I am wondering what classes I HAVE to have to apply to med school? My college does have a pre med program but like I said I cant afford to take another complete four year degree.

In addition to a list of the classes I have to have can I take any of them at my community college or should I take them at my four year school? I am 42 and have a 3.81 GPA overall and a 4.0 in the social work major/ 3.4 or something like that in the psychology major. I also have done other things like served on student governemnet and done volunteer work.

ReplyQuote
(@Anonymous)
New Member Guest

I forgot to add that I have not taken any of the sciences such as bio, chem, etc.. Is it possible to take a year of biology, general chemistry, organic chemistry and physics in less then four years?

ReplyQuote
(@drdave)
Admin Admin

The classes you need for medical school are 1 year general chemistry, 1 year biology, 1 year organic chemistry and 1 year physics. The science courses need to be at the same level someone who is majoring in that field would take - for example, the first year of general chemistry that a chemistry major would need to take.