Notifications
Clear all

Are my grades messing up my chances at succeeding?

2 Posts
2 Users
0 Likes
(@argarg03)
Topic starter  

I am a freshman in college (well basically a sophomore since tomorrow is my last final). My first semester I got a 2.8 because I got a D in math... only because I had so many health issues(flu, mono, viruses, and the school thought I had swine flu). My school was on high alert this year because we had a huge swine flu outbreak that they were just sending me hope all the time...but I was so sick that it was really best anyway. I was able to maintain average grades in all my other classes during this period of time except for math, basically because it is just impossible to teach yourself math at home. It was really hard for me to keep up with work at home, because we all know that professors don't always care. Since this is my first year, I was not well informed about options such as medical withdrawals and awesome things like that. This semester I did a lotttttttttt better. The only thing that really worries me is that I got a B- in Biology. Is this a bad grade? I was ranked 5th in the class out of 20 ... so compared to the rest I felt good... but I feel like a B- is horrible!!! Am I not cut out to go to medical school? I want this so bad but I'm afraid that the grades from my freshman year are going to really mess me up. Any advice?

I changed my major, first semester I was an International Business Major, and now of course premed. I am behind right now since I changed my major, therefore I was hoping to take Biology 2 over the summer. The only problem is that I am taking it online... is this a bad idea?

ReplyQuote
(@drdave)
Admin Admin