Notifications
Clear all

College Junior interested in going to Medical School

7 Posts
3 Users
0 Likes
(@Anonymous)
New Member Guest

I am in desperate need of some advice......i'm a junior at RPI and am pursuing a dual major in Electrical and Computer Engineering and I have an overall GPA of 3.8 and am thinking of going into medical school because I hate engineering. Does anybody have any advice for me? Do you think I should apply to medical school right after I finish my bachelors or would I have a better shot if I did my masters in biomedical engineering and then go on to medical school? I'm just worried that I won't get into medical school my major has nothing remotely close to medicine.....what should i do to increase my chances (volunteer, etc. etc.)......and do you think its too late for me because I'm already about to start my junior year and only decided to go to medical school now.....so i haven't started studying for my MCATS...while most students who want to go to medical school would be well prepared during their junior year and probably know what medical school they are going to by the end of junior year......also, i have no idea how I would meet the requirements of medical school because my curriculum is has nothing to do with medicine....HEEEELLLLLLPPPP!!!!! 😉

ReplyQuote
(@Anonymous)
New Member Guest

Sit down. Take a deep breath. Consider your situation. You will graduate with a degree from a good college. If you want to go to med school, you have only to take and do well in the prerequisite courses. Your major is unimportant, except to the extent that you will be asked about it on interviews. Perhaps the more important question is whether you really do wish to go to med school, whether you really wish to be a physician. It is a significant undertaking, one not advisable to initiate in a moment of panic.

ReplyQuote
(@drdave)
Admin Admin

I completely agree - no need to panic whatsoever.