Notifications
Clear all

Applying for residencies

5 Posts
3 Users
0 Likes
(@marie)
Topic starter  

I am a fourth year medical student and am very interested in combined internal medicine-psychiatry residency programs. While I am completing my ERAS application, I was wondering if anyone who has been through or involved with the process has any suggestions or comments. I am also curious to hear what is thought about the different training programs. Thank you for your replies!

ReplyQuote
(@drdave)
Admin Admin

It's been a long time since I've been through the process (around 8 years ago now). I applied at both med-psych and peds-psych-child psych programs. You can start with the combined residency program frequently asked questions that I put together a LONG time ago. In general, the process is similar to interviewing for non-combined residency programs, except you get asked a lot on why you want to do the combined program instead of a single program. I think it is important to look at how long the program has been around, how many staff they have directly involved in the combined program, how much support the program gets from each department, how many current residents there are, what past residents have done after completing the program, and how strong each residency program is separately. If you have more specific questions, let me know. Feel free to send me a private message with the specific programs you are looking at and I'll reply via that route, if I know anything about the particular programs you are looking at. Best of luck. I actually enjoyed visiting the different programs.

This post was modified 2 years ago by DrDave

ReplyQuote
(@Anonymous)
New Member Guest