Clear all

Re: Should I enroll into a Post-bac program or just do the c

7 Posts
3 Users
0 Likes
(@Anonymous)
New Member Guest

Hi,
I have a masters in computer science and have been working for alomost 3 years now. I am planning on changing careers and would like pursue med school but I do not have the required biological courses. I have two options.
Option - 1 To enroll into a full time post-bac program and finish the course work. +ves: Better chances of getting good grades, Will get a comprehensive recom letter, possibility of getting into a med school through a linkage program. -ves: Glide year, Will not be working so won't be able to save for med school

Option 2 - Take required courses part time while working full time.

What do you guys suggest? Any ideas/suggestions are more than welcome.

Thanks,
Maya

ReplyQuote
(@drdave)
Admin Admin

I don't really have experience with the post-bac programs, or know of people who have done those, so I can't comment.

I do know several people, though, who took their courses part-time while working days, took the MCAT, and successfully got into medical school.

I wish I could give you more info on the post-bac programs. If you happen to find some resources elsewhere, please sure what you find with us here.

Thanks.

ReplyQuote
(@corpsman-up)
Estimable Member

I looked into both options (doing post-bac at Harvard Extension or Boston University, and also a very structured program at Tufts. Tufts rejected me from their program, and I opted against BU and Harvard Ex... but got into med school anyway). In the end, I ended up completing the coursework on my own -- I had a bachelor's degree in German and a master's in Health Promotion, and definitely had other premedical science classes that I had to take!